Pronouncement of Order: 2 March 2020

The 5-judge bench comprising Justices NV Ramana, SK Kaul, R Subhash Reddy, BR Gavai and Surya Kant today refused to refer the petitions challenging the abrogation of Article 370 to a larger bench. Pronouncing its verdict in open court, Justice Ramana, on behalf of the Bench, observed that it saw no reason to make such a reference. 

(For Supreme Court Observer's plain English summary of the full order, see here)


As to the resumption of hearing on the merits of the case, the Bench remarked that the same will be decided depending on the schedule of the Sabarimala Reference hearing.