Summary of proceedings on Day 4 (19th April 2017)

On 19th April 2017, the Supreme Court constituted a  5 judge bench to hear the issue of citizenship of immigrants to Assam. The 5 judge bench headed by Justice Madan B. Lokur also includes Justices R.K. Agarwal, P.C. Pant, D.Y. Chandrachud and Ashok Bhusan. The constitutional bench will restrict itself to examining the constitutional validity of Section 6A of the Citizenship Act.