Last updated at 12.05, 29.10.18

Day 13 Arguments: 29th October 2018

The Supreme Court is hearing an appeal to the 2010 Allahabad High Court judgment, which divided the Ayodhya title evenly between the following three parties: Ram Lalla, the Nirmohi Akhara, the Sunni Waqf Board.


On 27th September 2018, the Supreme Court judged that the Ayodhya Title Dispute need not be heard by a five-judge Constitution Bench. In a split 2:1 judgment, the Bench held that Ismail Faruqui 1994 does not require reconsideration by a larger five-judge Bench. Ismail Faruqui upheld the Acquisition of Certain Area at Ayodhya Act, 1993.


Today, a three-judge Bench composed of CJI Ranjan Gogoi, Justice SK Kaul and Justice KM Joseph listed the case for January, 2019. The composition of the three-judge Bench that will hear the case will also be decided in January.