ITEM NO.18&19 Court 1 (Video Conferencing)

SECTION X

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s). 1118/2020

RAKESH VAISHNAV & ORS.

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA & ORS.

Respondent(s)

(IA No. 4719/2021 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS)

WITH

W.P.(C) No. 1441/2020 (PIL-W)

(IA No. 4714/2021 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS)

W.P.(C)No. 1174 of 2020

(I.A. No. 6051/2021- Modification of Court order)

Date: 20-01-2021 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE A.S. BOPANNA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE V. RAMASUBRAMANIAN

For Petitioner(s) Mr. Harish N. Salve, Sr. Adv.

In WP 1441/20 Mr. Deepak Goel, AOR

Mr. Kamal Kumar Pandey, Adv.

Mr. Vipin Kumar, Adv. Ms. Madhuri Gupta, Adv.

In WP 1118/20 Mr. K.parameshwar, AOR

Mr. Aman Saxena, Adv. Mr. M.V. Mukunda, Adv. Ms. A.Sregurupriya, Adv.

In WP 1174/2020 Mr. Sukumar Pattjoshi, Sr. Adv.

Mr. K.K. Gautam, Adv. Mr. P.S. Nerwal, Adv. Mr. A.K. Suman, Adv. Mr. Manoj Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Sandeep Kumar Singh, Adv. Mr. Sanjeev Malhotra, Adv.

In WP 1404/2020 Mr. Om Prakash Ajit Singh Parihar, Adv.

Mr. Vikas Singh, Sr.Adv.

In WP(C)1406/20 Mr./Ms. Harisha S.R., AOR

For Respondent(s) Mr. K.K. Venugopal, AG Applicant in Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG IA 4719 &

Mr. K.M. Nataraj, ASG4714/20

Mr. Chinmayee Chandra, Adv.

Mr. Ankur Talwar, Adv.

Ms. Vanshaja Shukla, Adv.

Mr. Shyam Gopal, Adv.

Ms. Suhasini Sen, Adv.

Mr. Kanu Agrawal, Adv.,

Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, AOR

Mr. B. V. Balaram Das, AOR

For GNCTD

Mr. Rahul Mehra, Adv.

Mr. Chirag M.Shroff, Adv.

Ms.Abhilasha Bharti, Adv.

Mr. Sushant Dogra, Dav.

Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG

Ms. Garima Prashad, AOR

Mr. Subodh Kumar Pathak, Adv.

Dr. V.Citambaresh, Sr.Adv.

Mr. Ravindra Sadanand Chingale, AOR

Mr. Ashish Sonawane, Adv.

For Intervenor

Dr. A.P. Singh, Adv.

Mr. V.P.Singh, Adv.

Ms. Geeta Singh, Adv.

Ms. Richa Singh, Adv.

Mr. Sharwan Kumar Goyal, Adv.

Mr. jai Gopal Saboo, Adv.

Mr. Sadashiv, AOR

Mr. Anil Grover, Sr. AAG

Ms. Noopur Singhal, Adv.

Mr. Rahul Khurana, Adv.

Mr. Satish Kumar, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Kumar Visen, AOR

Mr. Dushyant Dave, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Prashant Bhushan, Adv.

Mrs. Revathy Raghavan, AOR

Mr. P. Chidambaram, Sr. Adv.

Ms. Uttara Babbar, AOR

Mr. P.S. Narasimha, Sr. Adv.

For Intervenor Mr. Ekansh Mishra, AOR

Ms. Swati Vaibhav, AOR

For Applicant I.A. 6051/21

Mr. Ajay Choudhary, Adv.

Ms. Archana Pathak Dave, Adv.

Mr. Raj Kamal, AOR

Mr./Ms.Tanessa Puri, Adv.

Mr. Aseem Atwal, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

<u>IA 4719/2021 in W.P. (C) No(s).1118/2020 AND IA No. 4714/2021 IN W.P.(C) No. 1441/2020</u>

Mr. Tushar Mehta, learned Solicitor General appearing for the applicant(s), prays for withdrawal of these applications.

Prayer is allowed.

Accordingly, the instant interlocutory applications are dismissed as withdrawn.

<u>IA No. 6051/2021 - MODIFICATION OF COURT ORDER) in W.P.(C) No. 1174/2020</u>

By order dated 12.01.2021, this Court appointed a Committee of experts in the field of agriculture comprising of (1) Shri Bhupinder Singh Mann, National President, Bhartiya Kisan Union and All India Kisan Coordination Committee; (2) Dr. Parmod Kumar Joshi, Agricultural Economist, Director for South Asia, International Food Policy Research Institute; (3) Shri Ashok Gulati, Agricultural Economist and Former Chairman of the Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices; and (4) Shri Anil Ghanwat, President, Shetkari Sanghatana.

The purpose of constituting the aforesaid Committee was clear that is to listen to the grievances of the parties impacted by the three impugned farms laws viz., (1) Farmers' Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act, 2020; (2) Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act, 2020; and (3) Farmers (Empowerment and

Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Act, 2020, (hereinafter referred to as the 'farm laws') with reference to the provisions enacted therein. Adjudicatory powers have not been conferred on the Committee. The Committee's role is to hear the grievances of the parties impacted by the impugned legislation and make a report to this Court.

Shri Bhupinder Singh Mann, National President, Bhartiya Kisan Union and All India Kisan Coordination Committee, has recused from the Committee on 13.01.2021. This has resulted in a vacancy, which has triggered this application.

Mr. Dushyant Dave, learned Senior Counsel and Mr. Prashant Bhushan, learned counsel who are appearing on behalf of eight of the respondents-farmers' unions in Writ Petition (C) Nos.1404/2020, 1406/2020 and 1421/2020, jointly stated that since the farmers' unions represented by them have already decided not to participate in the deliberations of any Committee, they have nothing to say on the instant application for modification of this Court's order dated 12.01.2021. This statement is recorded.

Issue notice.

Put up after two weeks along with the record of Writ Petition (Civil) No.1118/2020, Writ Petition (C) No.1404/2020 and all connected matters.

(MADHU BALA) (SANJAY KUMAR-II)
AR-CUM-PS ASTT. REGISTRAR-cum-PS

(INDU KUMARI POKHRIYAL)
ASSISTANT REGISTRAR