Assam Accord: Constitution of 5-Judge Bench

Assam Accord

On 19th April 2017, the Supreme Court constituted the five-judge bench to hear the constitutional questions pertaining to citizenship in Assam. The Court had initially referred the matter to a five-judge bench on 17 December 2014.


The Bench is headed by Justice Madan B. Lokur and includes Justices R.K. Agarwal, P.C. Pant, D.Y. Chandrachud and Ashok Bhusan. The constitutional bench will restrict itself to examining the constitutional validity of Section 6A of the Citizenship Act, 1955.