Day 13 Arguments

Ayodhya Title Dispute

October 29th 2018

The Supreme Court is hearing an appeal to the 2010 Allahabad High Court judgment, which divided the Ayodhya title evenly between the following three parties: Ram Lalla, the Nirmohi Akhara, the Sunni Waqf Board.


On 27th September 2018, the Supreme Court judged that the Ayodhya Title Dispute need not be heard by a five-judge Constitution Bench. In a split 2:1 judgment, the Bench held that Ismail Faruqui 1994 does not require reconsideration by a larger five-judge Bench. Ismail Faruqui upheld the Acquisition of Certain Area at Ayodhya Act, 1993.


Today, a three-judge Bench composed of CJI Ranjan Gogoi, SK Kaul and KM Joseph JJ listed the case for January, 2019. The composition of the three-judge Bench that will hear the case will also be decided in January.