Court Data

Justice Aniruddha Bose had a 5 year long tenure

Justice Bose's tenure spanned five years, slightly below the average tenure of sitting judges

On 10 April 2024, Justice Aniruddha Bose retired after a five year long tenure at the Supreme Court. In this piece, we will look at Justice Bose’s tenure in comparison with other sitting judges at the Supreme Court. Particularly with judges appointed on the same day as Justice Bose.

Figure 1 shows the expected tenure of all sitting judges of the Supreme Court. Justice Bose's tenure spanned five years, slightly below the average tenure of sitting judges, which stands at 5.3 years. He falls within the category of 20 judges of the Supreme Court who have had a tenure shorter than the average.

Justice Bose was appointed in May 2019 under the collegium led by former Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi. He was elevated to the Supreme Court along with his brother judges,  Justices B.R. GavaiSurya Kant, and A.S. Bopanna.

Justices B.R. Gavai and Surya Kant have longer tenures of 6.5 and 7.67 years, respectively. Justice Bopanna who will retire on 19 May 2024 has a tenure that closely mirrors Justice Bose.