Court Data

Justice V. Ramasubramanian: Number of Judgements Authored

Justice Ramasubramanian authored 102 judgements during his 3.75-year tenure at the SC.

Justice V. Ramasubramanian retires today after close to 4 years at the SC. With his retirement, the sitting strength of the SC is now 31 judges. During his tenure, he authored 102 judgements.

Number of Judgements

Figure 1 shows the total number of judgements authored by sitting judges who have served for more than 2 years at the SC. The outer dark blue bar shows the total number of judgements authored by the judge. The inner yellow bar shows the judgements authored by a judge each year. 

Chief Justice D.Y. Chandrachud is at the top of the list having authored* 557 judgements in his 7-year tenure so far. He has also authored the highest number of judgements per year (79.5). 

Justice Ramasubramanian has authored 102 judgements in his 3.75-year tenure. This means he has written 27.7 judgements per year. This number is higher than a majority of judges on the chart who have had longer tenures. 

Read about his judgement authorship rate here


*Data collected on June 27th, 2023.