Court Data

Number of Women Supreme Court Judges from 1950

Since 1989, eight women appointed as judges of the Supreme Court.

Fathima Beevi J was the first woman to hold a post as a Supreme Court judge. Since 1989, 8 other women were appointed as judges of the Supreme court: Sujatha Manohar, Ruma Pal, Gyan Sudha Misra, Ranjana Prakash Desai,  Banumathi,  Indu Malhotra, and Indira Banerjee JJ. On Ranjana Desai J’s retirement in October 2014, the Supreme Court had been functioning with just one woman judge – R Banumathi Justice – for the last three years. However, with the appointment of Indu Malhotra and Indira Banerjee JJ this year, the current bench of the Supreme Court comprises of 3 women Justices, a first in the history of the institution.